Abington students earn Faculty Senate scholarships

Ten Penn State Abington students were selected by the University Faculty Senate for scholarships of at least $1,000 each for 2012-13 academic year.

Members of the Abington faculty submitted nominations to the campus' Faculty Scholarship Committee, which ranked the nominated students. A committee at University Park then selected 10 students from the Abington list.

The Abington scholarship recipients, who must have at least a 3.25 grade point average among other requirements, are:

-- Maria Narodetsky, nominated by Judy Newman, associate professor, human development and family studies

-- Nancy Sophavandy, Brian Sargrad and Malaika Williams, nominated by Shruti Gupta, associate professor, marketing

-- Dathan Freeman, nominated by Bella Friesel, instructor, communication

-- Jennifer Bartasavich and Brian Affleck, both nominated by Elizabeth Montemurro, associate professor, sociology

-- Alex Nunex, nominated by Rosa Chism, senior lecturer, Spanish

-- Gillian Procopio, nominated by Ross Brinkert, associate professor, corporate communication

-- Kathryn Colley, nominated by Fran Sessa, associate professor, psychology