Committee on Institutional Cooperation names five as fellows

The Committee on Institutional Cooperation's Academic Leadership Program has gained five additional Fellows from the Penn State ranks. The CIC is the academic consortium of the Big Ten universities plus the University of Chicago. Through its leadership program, participants who have demonstrated exceptional ability and administrative promise are aided in further developing their leadership and managerial skills.

Those selected from Penn State for the 2015-16 program have been chosen because of their significant contributions and potential to undertake key leadership responsibilities at the University. Participants are:

-- Ali Demirci, professor of agricultural and biological engineering, College of Agricultural Sciences

-- Binh P. Le, associate librarian/head of reference, Penn State Abington, and 2015-16 Administrative Fellow to the executive vice president and provost

-- Theresa S. Mayer, associate dean for research and innovation, and Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering, College of Engineering

-- Sophia A. McClennen, professor of comparative literature and international affairs, School of International Affairs

-- James A. Strauss, senior lecturer and 2015-16 University Faculty Senate chair-elect, Eberly College of Science

The fellows will be participating in three seminars during the 2015-16 academic year: Issues and Ideas, which will be hosted by The University of Wisconsin-Madison; and Internal and External Relationships; and Money, Management and Strategies; at The University of Maryland.

The program is specifically geared toward answering the challenges of academic administration at major research universities. Fellows are appointed to terms of one year and funding is provided by the participating institutions.

For more information on the CIC, visit