2013 Faculty/Staff Award recipients announced, lauded for achievements

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Each year, Penn State honors several members of its faculty and staff for the highest levels of academic excellence, outstanding leadership and meritorious service. The 2013 Faculty/Staff Award recipients -- 33 outstanding University employees and one program -- reach across campuses, colleges and administrative units and exemplify best practices and achievements among Penn Staters reflecting the University's mission of teaching, research and service.

The honorees will receive their awards at a ceremony at noon Monday, March 25, at the Nittany Lion Inn.

Articles about this year's award recipients are linked below, listed below by award category.

Undergraduate Faculty Teaching Awards

The Milton S. Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching:
Charles Ghilani, professor of engineering, Penn State Wilkes-Barre; 
Alicia Grandey, associate professor of psychology, College of the Liberal Arts

The George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching:
Charles Elavsky, assistant professor of communications, College of Communications; 
Mikhail A. Kagan, assistant professor of physics, Penn State Abington;
Kathy Meehan, senior instructor, human development and family studies; Penn State Brandywine;
Debra A. Miller, instructor, social sciences and education, Penn State Lehigh Valley;
Cindy J. Parsons, senior lecturer, mathematics, Eberly College of Science;
Peter D. Wilf, associate professor of geosciences, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

The Alumni/Student Award for Excellence in Teaching (2013 Penn State Teaching Fellows):
Julia S. Kasdorf, professor of English and women's studies, College of the Liberal Arts; 
Verónica Montecinos, professor of sociology, Penn State Greater Allegheny;
Jeff M. Sharp, associate professor of business law, Smeal College of Business University Park

The Penn State Excellence in Advising Award
Faculty: Brandon Hunt, professor of education (education, rehabilitation and human services), College of Education
Staff: Vanessa Wade, academic adviser, College of Health and Human Development

The President's Award for Excellence in Academic Integration: Janice C. Light, Hintz Family Endowed Chair in Children's Communicative Competence, College of Health and Human Development

The President's Award for Engagement with Students: Edward Smith, professor of aerospace engineering, College of Engineering

The Undergraduate Program Leadership Award: Gwendolyn Lloyd, professor of mathematics education, College of Education

Graduate Faculty Teaching Awards

The Howard B. Palmer Faculty Mentoring Award: Nan E. Woodruff, professor of African American studies and modern U.S. history, College of the Liberal Arts

The Graduate Faculty Teaching Award: John P. Christman, professor of philosophy, political science and women's studies, College of the Liberal Arts

The Graduate School Alumni Society Graduate Program Chair Leadership Award: Barry Lee, director, graduate program, sociology, College of the Liberal Arts

Faculty Scholar Medals

Arts and Humanities Medal: Helen O'Leary, professor of art, College of Arts and Architecture
Engineering Medal: Tony J. Huang, associate professor of engineering science and mechanics, College of Engineering
Life and Health Sciences Medal: Claude W. dePamphilis, professor of biology, Eberly College of Science
Physical Sciences Medal: Susan L. Brantley, professor of geosciences and director, Earth and Environmental Systems Institute (EESI), College of Earth and Mineral Sciences
Social and Behavioral Sciences Medal: Judith F. Kroll, distinguished professor of psychology, linguistics and women's studies, College of the Liberal Arts

Faculty and Staff Achievement Awards

The Barash Award for Human Service: Joel Weidner, director, information systems and marketing, Auxiliary and Business Services 

The Shirley Hendrick Award: Leslie A. Laing, assistant director, adult learner programs and services, Division of Student Affairs

The Award for Administrative Excellence: Roger L. Williams, associate vice president, Alumni Relations, and executive director, Penn State Alumni Association

The Staff Excellence Award: Martha Traverse, administrative assistant, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

The Support Staff Award: Trish Ripka, administrative and finance coordinator, Office of Human Resources

The Dr. James Robinson Equal Opportunity Award: Jamie Campbell, assistant dean of diversity enhancement programs, Smeal College of Business

The W. LaMarr Kopp International Faculty and Staff Achievement Award: Robert G. Crane, professor of geography and director, Alliance for Earth Science, Engineering and Development in Africa, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

The Penn State Award for Faculty Outreach: Timothy W. Kelsey, professor of agricultural economics, College of Agricultural Sciences

Community Engagement and Scholarship AwardHumanitarian Engineering and Social Entrepreneurship Program, College of Engineering

A full description of each of the Faculty/Staff Awards with contacts for further information is online at http://www.psu.edu/ur/awards/faculty.html.