Faculty Recognition

faculty awards

Faculty Award Winners, Spring 2013

Penn State Abington Scholar Award - Qiang Duan, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Information Sciences and Technology


Penn State Abington Distinguished Faculty Service Award - Ross S. Brinkert, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Corporate Communications


Penn State Abington Outstanding Teaching Award, Tenure Track - Michael J. Bernstein, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Psychology


Penn State Abington Outstanding Advising/Mentoring Award - Karen E. Weekes, Ph.D., Associate Professor of English and Women Studies


Penn State Abington Outstanding Teaching Award, Instructors and Lecturers - Julie Liebman, Ph.D., Lecturer in Psychology


Penn State Abington Special Recognition Award - Jimmy J. Pack, MFA, Lecturer in English


Pete Capelotti

Dr. P.J. Capelotti, Associate Professor of Anthropology, was awarded the Meritorious Service Medal by the U.S. Coast Guard on May 4, 2012.   Given at the conclusion of a 24-year career in the U.S. Coast Guard Reserve that culminated at the rank of Master Chief Petty Officer, the award citation from Rear Admiral Karl L. Schultz cites Capelotti for being “at the forefront of the [Coast Guard’s] efforts to document the service’s most important operations during times of incredible national significance, including Operation Iraqi Freedom, the 2005 response to Hurricane Katrina, the 2010 Haitian Earthquake, and Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill responses.” 


This was the second time Capelotti has been decorated with the Meritorious Service Medal—the first was in 2003 following 18 months of active duty in the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks.  Among his other military honors are the Coast Guard Commendation Medal, the Coast Guard Achievement Medal, six Armed Forces Reserve Medals, three Meritorious Team Commendations, two Special Operations Service ribbons and, in 1994, the Coast Guard Arctic Service Medal.


Bryan Polk, Senior Lecturer of Religious Studies, thanks students for the Lion Heart Award at Spring 2012 Commencement. The award recognizes faculty who most inspired graduating students throughout their academic careers.